Councillor Susan Jones is appointed Mayor of Dover

Councillor Susan Jones began a new term as Mayor of Dover, marking her declaration of acceptance of office at the first full council meeting held at St. Mary’s Parish Centre on 18th May 2023.

St Mary’s Parish Centre was attended by the public and distinguished guests to welcome the newly elected Town Council to their first official meeting. At the meeting 8 brand new Councillors were elected together with 10 Councillors who had served previously. Councillor Susan Jones was previously Mayor in 2009-10, 2010-11 and 2018-19. They are currently the Councillor for the St. Radigunds Ward.  Councillor Edward Biggs was elected as Deputy Mayor.

Councillor Susan Jones thanked the Council for electing her as Mayor of Dover. The Mayor’s speech briefly gave insight into the priorities for the year ahead; as the Town Councillors and Mayor of Dover continue to coordinate improvements that will strengthen businesses and Dover Town itself.

Cadet Sargeant Jamee Phillips of the Astor Secondary School CCF was appointed Mayor’s Cadet.

Councillor Susan Jones led the thanks to retire Mayor Councillor Gordon Cowan for representing the Town so well during the past 4 years and attending over 150 engagements this year aimed at working together with the town’s local organisations and people.

Photo Credit Albane Photography