Congratulations – Mayor and Deputy Mayor 2018/19

Congratulations to Councillor Sue Jones who was chosen as Mayor of Dover for 2018/19 and to Councillor Ian Palmer who will support her as Deputy Mayor. Councillors voted at their meeting last night and the new Mayor and Deputy Mayor will formally take their oaths of office  at “Mayor Making” on 24th May in the historic  Dover Town Hall.

Sue and Ian are both Councillors for  St Radigund’s Ward. Sue has been Mayor before in 2009-10 and 2010-11 and Ian was elected to the Council last year.

Sue said ” I am honoured and delighted to have the opportunity to serve the community of Dover once again and take forward the Council’s many projects to make the most of the town’s unique potential to be a brilliant place to live and work.  I know Ian will be an exceptional Deputy Mayor and bring a wealth of experience and total commitment to his role. Thank you to all our fellow Councillors who have placed their trust in us”.